US 1924 James Monroe (1758-1831) Coil 10c. Scott. 603

US 1924 James Monroe (1758-1831) Coil 10c. Scott. 603

Series: 1922-1926 Regular Issue

Issued date: 01-12-1924 (dd/mm/yyyy)
Face value: 10c.

Emission: Definitive (Coil)
Watermark: No Watermark

Catalogue No:-
Scott (USA): 603
Stanley Gibbons (UK): 610
Michel (Germany): 272J
Yvert et Tellier (France): 237Ca

Dimensions (height x width):
25.4mm x 22.2mm

Stamp Colors: Orange
Perforation: 10 Vertical

Themes: Politicians, Famous People, Heads of State, Men

Note: Rotary press

Description:- James Monroe (1758-1831) was an American statesman, lawyer, diplomat and Founding Father who served as the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825. A member of the Democratic-Republican Party, Monroe was the last president of the Virginia dynasty and the Republican Generation; his Presidency coincided with the Era of Good Feelings, concluding the First Party System era of American politics. He is perhaps best known for issuing the Monroe Doctrine, a policy of opposing European colonialism in the Americas while effectively asserting U.S. dominance, empire, and hegemony in the hemisphere. He also served as governor of Virginia, a member of the United States Senate, U.S. ambassador to France and Britain, the seventh Secretary of State, and the eighth Secretary of War.