US 1939 James Monroe (1758-1831) Coil 5c. Scott. 845

US 1939 James Monroe (1758-1831) Coil 5c. Scott. 845

Series: Presidential Issue

Issued date: 20-01-1939 (dd/mm/yyyy)
Face value: 5c.

Emission: Definitive (Coil)
Watermark: No Watermark

Catalogue No:-
Scott (USA): 845
Stanley Gibbons (UK): 838
Michel (Germany): 417C
Yvert et Tellier (France): 375Aa

Dimensions (height x width):
25.4mm x 22.2mm

Printer: Bureau of Engraving and Printing
Print Method: Rotary press

Stamp Colors: Bright blue
Perforation: Perf 10 Vertically

Themes: Famous People, Politician, Head of State, Statesman

Total print: 40,301,000 (estimate)

Description:- James Monroe (1758-1831) was an American statesman, lawyer, diplomat and Founding Father who served as the fifth president of the United States from 1817 to 1825. A member of the Democratic-Republican Party, Monroe was the last president of the Virginia dynasty and the Republican Generation; his presidency coincided with the Era of Good Feelings, concluding the First Party System era of American politics. He is perhaps best known for issuing the Monroe Doctrine, a policy of opposing European colonialism in the Americas while effectively asserting U.S. dominance, empire, and hegemony in the hemisphere. He also served as governor of Virginia, a member of the United States Senate, U.S. ambassador to France and Britain, the seventh Secretary of State, and the eighth Secretary of War.