US 1954 James Monroe (1758-1831) 5c. Scott. 1038

US 1954 James Monroe (1758-1831) 5c. Scott. 1038

Series: Liberty Issue

Stamp details: James Monroe (1758-1831), fifth President of the U.S.A.

Issued date: 02-12-1954 (dd/mm/yyyy)
Face value: 5c.

Emission: Definitive
Watermark: No Watermark

Catalogue No:-
Scott (USA): 1038
Stanley Gibbons (UK): 1036
Michel (Germany): 659Ax
Yvert et Tellier (France): 590

Dimensions (height x width):
25.4mm x 22.2mm

Printer: Bureau of Engraving and Printing
Print Method: Rotary Press

Stamp Colors: Dark blue
Perforation: Perf 11 x 10
Paper: Normal

Themes: Famous People, Head of State, Statesman

Note: Dry printing:- Stamps printed on dry paper appear bright with a glossy surface. The paper is thicker and stiffer. The print therefore appears clearer and sharper.

Description:- James Monroe (1758-1831) was an American statesman, lawyer, diplomat, and Founding Father who served as the fifth president of the United States from 1817 to 1825. A member of the Democratic-Republican Party, Monroe was the last president of the Virginia dynasty and the Republican Generation; his presidency coincided with the Era of Good Feelings, concluding the First Party System era of American politics. He is perhaps best known for issuing the Monroe Doctrine, a policy of opposing European colonialism in the Americas while effectively asserting U.S. dominance, empire, and hegemony in the hemisphere. He also served as governor of Virginia, a member of the United States Senate, U.S. ambassador to France and Britain, the seventh Secretary of State, and the eighth Secretary of War.