US 2022 Atlantic Sea Nettle, Gray's Reef Nat Marine Sanctuary 60c. Scott. 5713l

US 2022 Atlantic Sea Nettle, Gray's Reef Nat Marine Sanctuary 60c. Scott. 5713l

Series: Marine Sanctuaries of the USA (2022)

Stamp details: Atlantic Sea Nettle, Gray's Reef Nat Marine Sanctuary

Issued date: 05-08-2022 (dd/mm/yyyy)
Face value: 60c.
(FOREVER º - No Face Value)

Format: Pane of 16

Emission: Commemorative
First Day City: Santa Cruz, California

Catalogue No:-
Scott (USA): 5713l

Dimensions (height x width):
39.75mm x 25mm

Printer: Ashton Potter (USA) Ltd
Print Method: Offset

Designers: Greg Breeding

Perforation: Serpentine Die Cut

Stamp Colors: Multicolored
Gum type: Self-Adhesive

Themes: National Park, Jellyfish, Fish, Marine Life, Sea Life

Total print: 2,375,000 (estimate)

Note: Stamp from Mini-Sheet.

Face value US$0.60 on day of issue.

Description:- The Atlantic sea nettle (Chrysaora quinquecirrha), also called the East Coast sea nettle in the United States, is a species of jellyfish that inhabits the Atlantic coast of the United States. Historically it was confused with several Chrysaora species, resulting in incorrect reports of C. quinquecirrha from other parts of the Atlantic and other oceans.[1][2] Most recently, C. chesapeakei of estuaries on the Atlantic coast of the United States, as well as the Gulf of Mexico, was only fully recognized as separate from C. quinquecirrha in 2017. It is smaller than the Pacific sea nettle, and has more variable coloration, but is typically pale, pinkish or yellowish, often with radiating more deeply colored stripes on the exumbrella, especially near the margin.

cultural, archeological, scientific, educational, or aesthetic qualities. While National Marine Sanctuaries are multiple-use areas, the NMSA emphasizes that one of the express purposes of a sanctuary is to “maintain the natural biological communities” and to “protect and, where appropriate, restore and enhance natural habitats, populations, and ecological processes.” The National Marine Sanctuary System consists of 15 marine protected areas that encompass more than 783,000 square miles (2,030,000 km2). Individual areas range from less than 1 to 583,000 square miles (3 to 1,509,963 km2).
Source: en.wikipedNational_Marine_Sanctuary